Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Favorite bassist

Discussion in 'Bassists [DB]' started by frost13, Aug 17, 2000.

1. frost13

frost13

Apr 12, 2000
    I dig Ray Brown and Ron Carter....but my all time favorite will always be Scott LaFaro. It's amazing what he accomplished in such a short time.

2. AlexFeldman

AlexFeldman

Jun 18, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    Ray Brown, Oscar Pettiford, Paul Chambers, Ron Carter, Scott LaFaro are the oldies I dig.

There's a cat who I believe plays in New York these days... or is it Chicago? :) Anyway, his name is Larry Kohut, and he's been through my way twice with saxophonist Rudy Mahanthappa... I'm totally into this guy's playing. If any of you ever get a chance, check this guy out. He's not a choppy guy, but he's a genuinly friendly guy and a wonderful musician.

3. I'm pretty new to the world of DB--so far I really like Paul Chambers, Scott LaFaro, Edgar Meyer, Eddie Gomez, and Gary Karr....
    "The Arrival of Victor Feldman" with LaFaro is one of my favorite recordings.
    What surprised me is that in a recent Down Beat magazine they listed past Hall of Famers and bassists seem to be woefully underrepresented--Jimmy Blanton, LaFaro, Chambers, Red Mitchell are absent. Mingus and Jaco are in, though.
    How is the Down Beat poll regarded within the jazz community?

4. I rank it right up there with People Magazine.
    The community of players and the community of non-playing afficianados (sp.?) will likely have different opinions.

5. Deynn

Deynn Moderator Emeritus

Aug 9, 2000
    Iowa
    Besides those already mentioned (especially Scott LaFaro)...
    I also enjoy Niels-Henning Orsted Pedersen. You don't tend to hear much about him....but his playing is outstanding!

6. I just picked up Joel Quarrington's Virtuoso Reality,and it
    was very interesting. His concept of tuning in fifths is