1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to post, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Favorite on-board preamp

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by RAM, Jan 5, 2003.

1. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    What is your favorite on-board preamp? I have limited experience with them and I see the list of good preamps is growing faster than I can keep up with.

2. I have always been a price driven consumer. I am willing to forfeit the latest and greatest for something cheaper cuz, well...I'm just that kinda guy :)

Since that's the case, At $79 I really like the Carvin preamp. 9v, 3-band, active/passive, pickup sweep, and some of the best engineered and assembled components you'll find anywhere. I installed one in a friends Samick fretless and the dang thing just came alive! I intend to use them on a couple of projects soon.

For the other end of the spectrum - the walletbusters - I can certainly recommend the J-Retro or R-Retro from Vintage Bass Trading Company - www.vintagebass.com. I've got one in my J and it's great. More features than a 12 screen theater with a girlfriend impressing $250 bucks required for admission.

Ultimately though, you won't really know what any particular setup sounds like until it's dropped into YOUR instrument. They will all do something different.

3. I have a Basslines STC-3p in my Yobias Pro-5 and STC-3mm in my warmoth Jazzman.

I have a bart HR 5.2 a/p in my carvin BB-70F. In order to replace a failed carvin preamp. The mid control ceased to affect tone, the bass control had it center in a very weird location. Didn't really affect what I consider to be Bass.

The bart preamp is the preamp in my opinion. But that's for fretless. It's so smooth and powerful. Did I mention powerful? It'll punch a hole in you if you let it.