1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

SOLD FBass Alain Caron fretless 5 - AC5

Discussion in 'For Sale: Bass Guitars' started by Jerry J, Sep 16, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jerry J

Jerry J Supporting Member

Mar 27, 2000
    P-town, OR
    I've done some serious soul searching lately and have decided that I will not be able to play a fretless bass like one of my main bass heros, Alain Caron. I'm feeling that even if I had another lifetime of time I wouldn't be able to approach that level of talent.

This bass was kind of a "holy grail" bass for me and it certainly doesn't disappoint in any way. The craftsmanship that George put into this bass is highly evident. Although I am no expert I can't think of another fretless bass that is better at what it does than this bass.

So after all the considerations, I have decided to put my AC5 up for sale. I have convinced myself to do this to pay down some of the debt that I seem to keep dragging around. So I am not interested in any trades, please.

FBassAC5002.jpg
    FBassAC5004.jpg
    FBassAC5006.jpg

The only real issues that I can find are that there are several places where the satin finish has taken on a gloss. I contacted George about this and he suggested fine sandpaper but I just can't bring myself to do that. Also there are some light string markings on the ebony fingerboard which don't affect playability.

My time may be somewhat limited on this since my job may require to be away from home for quite a few weeks at a time. So bear with me please.

the price on the AC5 is $3700 plus actual shipping. I estimate, based on recent FedEx shipping to be around $60. But I've been suprised lately how shipping to certain areas of the US has been insane. So I will need your zip code to figure shipping.

2. Tampabass

Tampabass Going Viral By 2080 Supporting Member

Feb 16, 2006