FEA DE-CL Comp LED thing

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by yanaki, Feb 25, 2018.

Tags:
  1. yanaki

yanaki

Apr 12, 2011
    LI, NY
    Hiya TB Compression heads,

I’m fairly new to setting my own compression. I’m hoping to get some feedback on an FEA DE-CL function that has me confused. (not hard to do)

It seems that, whether activated or not, the comp LED flashes in response to the
    level of input generated by my fingers. I’d expect that in active mode only.

My ears tell me the all the dial functions are working only when activated but when disengaged the comp LED continues to respond with the same intensity generated by any adjustments I make when was activated.

Is this normal? I would expect the comp LED to be off when not activated.

This occurs whether the limiter is on or off.
    The limiter LED seems to be functioning normally.

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks!

2. willsellout

willsellout Supporting Member

Aug 13, 2002
    Fort Wayne, IN
    That’s normal.

3. yanaki

yanaki

Apr 12, 2011
    LI, NY
    Thanks much willsellout!
    Wonder why?.......I guess it's to let me know what to expect when I engage it.

willsellout likes this.
  4. willsellout

Aug 13, 2002
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Yeah I’m not sure but I know that all of their comps do that. But their LED’s don’t really indicate anything other than the threshold being reached.i think your right that it engages when the pedal is off just as a visual cue.

yanaki likes this.
  5. yanaki

yanaki

Apr 12, 2011
    LI, NY
    I'm just relieved it's not busted.

willsellout likes this.
  6. willsellout

Aug 13, 2002
    Fort Wayne, IN
    The last thing I would worry about with an FEA pedal is it breaking. They are incredibly sturdy. The DE-CL is an awesome pedal too. Im currently on the waitlist for one.

superdick2112 and Mosfed like this.
  7. yanaki

yanaki

Apr 12, 2011
    LI, NY