Feeling like the stickler

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by twinjet, Apr 26, 2019.

Tags:
  1. twinjet

twinjet Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Sep 23, 2008
    So, I have a bit of a concern.

I find myself rejecting a lot of gigs when they don't pay well, or at all. I'm not a professional, just a guy who works here and there. So when one of my groups was offered a spot in the state's largest music festival, I was stoked. Only issue was compensation.

Musicians were given:
    -Free camping/parking spot ($100 value)
    -100% of merchandise sales.
    -Bragging rights for being on the same bill as other major acts playing on the stage.
    -"Exposure to some of the largest audiences in the state". :poop:

The festival is three hours outside of the city each way. Gas is over $3/gallon, at the musician's expense.

When asked about going out with my group, I replied "can't do it. Exposure bucks don't pay the mortgage". Understandable. Today, I was ranting to this same BL about low-paying gigs.

Regarding an upcoming gig, I told her that if they offered less than $75/person, she ought to tell the organizers to "pound sand". At another gig opportunity, I said no to tips and a skiing day pass. I don't ski and won't drive an hour RT for tips.

I'm not a greedy player. I've put in my dues, is all. Now, as a part-time musician I just make sure I'm not devaluing the market.

I do have to say no to more gigs and this may leave holes in my band, but is there really any winning here?

2. Bodeanly

Bodeanly

Mar 20, 2015
    Chicago
    They were offering 100% of your own merchandise sales? "Gee, thanks people who want to pay us with a parking spot."

The way you feel is completely justifiable. I don't play for exposure anymore. I hear you can die from it.

kobass, rd2rk, smogg and 20 others like this.
  3. twinjet

Sep 23, 2008
    Yeah. Good thing this wasn't delivered in person. It would have been tough to keep a straight face.