1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Feeling the 30s blues, Rock music dead in the USA?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by ShadowImage, Feb 6, 2017.

1. ShadowImage

ShadowImage Guest

Jan 12, 2016
    Alright this is more of a personal rant and vent than anything else.

My favorite styles of music are some of the more fringe genres of rock and metal; black/death metal and dark/gothic rock (ok maybe I've lost some of you now). I've been making music for two decades now, to varying degrees of success. Each time I've had an original band making traction, there are setbacks to "making it". While I've been "signed" with European labels and released albums, people move, relationships end, members quit, bands break up etc. Despite some good shows, I've never had what I would call a successful tour or many album sales. The only markets I've had minor success with are Germany, Mexico and Brazil (though not enough to afford to tour there). Never my home country of the USA.

A lot is due to personal issues but some of this I attribute to the genres I play which can't compete with the popularity of Pop, Hip hop and Electronic Dance Music which are big in the USA. I acknowledge I'm not playing very mainstream styles but there are some big festivals in Europe for the music I like such as Wacken, Inferno, Hellfest, Amphi, Wave Gotik, Mera Luna, but here in the States, not so much (perhaps Maryland Deathfest and to a limited extent Ozzfest). Likewise, I've seen bands such as Norway's Mayhem, who headline Euro festivals numbering 50,000 fans bring crowds of only 100 in the midwest USA.