Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Felt picks?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Johnny Flash, Jan 5, 2004.

1. Johnny Flash

Johnny Flash

Jan 2, 2004
    Anyone here used them before? Oppinions? Brands? I'm thinking of ordering but i've never used them before.

2. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I use them with my ABG - no idea as to brand. They're the white oval ones, although I've used the taco chip shaped grey ones at times. They give me great tone.

3. Finger Blister

Finger Blister

Jul 8, 2003
    I use Dunlop Felt Picks for certain thang's.

[​IMG]

4. meandnooneelse

meandnooneelse

Jun 12, 2009
    Albany, GA
    I only recently heard of felt picks. I wish I had discovered them sooner! Such a useful tool. I would describe the sound as much like finger picking, but with more attack, not bright like a normal pick. Plus I like that they are thick. That helps to prevent my hand from cramping.

5. lostreality

lostreality

Sep 2, 2016
    Chicagoland
    I'm used to Tortex Sharps so I can really hear the transition. I like the sound of felt, personally

6. MalcolmAmos

MalcolmAmos Supporting Member

Felt picks - rabbit fur everywhere. My pick of choice is a Big Stubby 2.0 to 3.0mm. I have used 1.00 mm picks and they are OK, but, I normally like the thicker pick. I sometime use a thumb pick and I would guess it to be just under 1.00mm. Never seen a really thick wrap around your thumb pick.

Long story short anything from 1.00 to 3.00mm. And no, I do not care for felt picks.

Last edited: Nov 19, 2016
  7. RustyAxe

RustyAxe

Jul 8, 2008
    Connecticut
    Not for me. I'd rather use a regular flat pick (1.0mm or more) if I'm going to use a pick at all.

8. Clef_de_fa

Clef_de_fa

Dec 25, 2011
    Canada