1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fender 51 p or Squier CV 51 p?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by theworldismad, Apr 23, 2010.

1. theworldismad

theworldismad

Oct 11, 2009
    Is it worth the extra 200 dollars to buy the fender used, or is the Squier a good enough bass? I played the Squier and loved it, but I have no experience with the fender. I did notice that the fender has a bridge that looks like a complete pain to set up, but that is easily fixable.

2. i would get the squier and i would buy it used, there are 2 of them for sale on here currently for like 250$, great bass for the price.

3. Stranger Danger

Stranger Danger Feel Like A Stranger Supporting Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Texas
    Fender

4. theworldismad

theworldismad

Oct 11, 2009
    Oh well thanks for the, uhm, discreet offer bjazzman haha. I am just asking about its quality because I will actually be able to buy it new for around that price at GuitarCenter due to a Trade in and a $50 dollar off sale. I just needed to know if I should buy it or save up for the Fender. I actually also want to save up for a Jack Casady used... but it seems really hard to find one used. I don't really ever check the listings here, though.

5. johnboy65

johnboy65

May 22, 2009
    The CV's are great for the money. Resale on the Fender will be better/easier.

6. CV"s even better on resale. Value and easier. ")
    IT's great instrument. I got CV jazz and P. Both are great for around 3$$.

7. TheRatt

TheRatt

Apr 24, 2010
    Pittsburgh, PA
    So far, 4 to 1 for the Squier. I'd go with the CV if I was yinz.

8. ubnomnar

ubnomnar Supporting Member

Dec 28, 2009
    So Cal
    The '51 Precision looks awesome...but I could never live with the 3/16" radius "slab" style forearm killing body contour.