Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender 75 RI Jazz Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by caesarbass, Aug 6, 2005.

1. anyonefortennis

anyonefortennis Supporting Member

Jun 28, 2005
    Lincoln, NE
    I'm really looking into this one too so I'd appreciate some feedback as well. I'm torn between the '75 and the '64 Time Machine.

2. Jmann

Jmann

Apr 29, 2003
    Lexington, Ky
    ihave no experience with the fender RI, but i do recall someone saying that the bridge P-up is not as close to the bridge as it was on the real 75s. If that is the case, its not going to have that 75' jazz sound, and IMHO is not worth the it, because the 75 was the sweetest sounding of the jazzes.

3. Jmann

Jmann

Apr 29, 2003
    Lexington, Ky
    I have no experience with the fender RI, but I do recall someone saying that the bridge P-up is not as close to the bridge as it was on the real 75s. If that is the case, its not going to have that 75' jazz sound, and IMHO is not worth the it, because the 75 was the sweetest sounding of the jazzes :cool:

4. narud

narud Supporting Member

Mar 15, 2001
    santa maria,california
    its the japanese 75 ri that doesnt have the correct spacing. the american version does

5. zombywoof5050

zombywoof5050

Dec 20, 2001
    I thought that those were being discontinued, because GC was closing them out awhile back and selling them off for like $820 new.
    You may have a hard time finding any.

6. Aj*

Aj*

Jun 14, 2005
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Mmm that looks like a nice bass, digging those pics. No exp, haven't seen one around at all.

7. burk48237

burk48237 Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Oak Park, MI