Fender Active Circuit / Passive vs. Active / EQ questions

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by dhclark76, May 28, 2005.

1. dhclark76

Mar 26, 2005
    Warning: I have a lot of questions, so if you have time, take a crack at all of them, or just pick one. I've already done searches on a lot of this, by the way, but I want to group these questions together so that you all have proper context.

I've been playing for a while now, but I'm a total newb to understanding the technology of my instrument. When I bought my bass, all I knew is that I liked the look, sound, and feel of the instrument (unfortunately in that order). I didn't understand the whole passive vs. active thing but I knew that it had an onboard eq powered by a single 9v battery, which I recently had to change for the first time. This provoked a lot of questions. So here goes.

Question #1: what kind of circuit do I have?

The bass is a no name jazz composed of fender and warmoth parts. It has jazz pups and the technology is obviously a Fender circuit of some sort as it has the Fender brand label on it. But beyond that, I'm lost. Now that I'm playing consistently (which I wasn't for the last 3 years). I don't like the idea of having to change a battery frequently as this requires removing the back panel (6 screws), so I'm debating a switch to a passive system.

Question #2: what are the pros and cons of a passive vs. active system, in this case? Should I just go passive, or leave it alone?

Question #3: when playing an hour a day, how long should I expect the battery to last? (this a major part of question #2)

Question #4: What EQ do I rely on? (read below)