1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fender Aerodyne bridge and pups

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by M13, Nov 1, 2013.

1. M13

M13

Nov 1, 2013
    Newbie here, appreciate any help I can get.

I'm a drummer, but I love playing the bass on the side. I'm going to order a Fender Aerodyne bass, but have read all over the net that replacing the bridge immediately is a good call. I might even change the pups, I haven't decided yet.

I know as much about bass bridges as I do about building bridges, so:

Badass III or Babicz FCH 4?

Also, are Fralins or Nordstrands worth the money for someone whose ears - mine - might not even know the difference? I can obviously get Duncans, Dimarzio's etc for less.

Thanks, stay frosty.....M

2. joelb79

joelb79

Mar 22, 2006
    Lansing, Michigan
    PJ aerodyne? If you want the most bang for the buck on upgrades, the FCH 4 and replacing on the the J pickup would give you the best bang for the buck.

For $200 you can have a set of Dimarzio Model PJ's and the Babicz bridge or the Badass III. I like hipshot hardware as well, especially at $90 for the A-Type bridge in Aluminum.

Are the Nordstrands worth the money? I'm not entirely convinced of that after owning them; but they are WONDERFUL pickups that come with even better technical support if you need it for any reason. I like Nordstrand if you need anything custom built for your bass. When it comes to standard pickups; only if you need a vintage tone nailed are they worth the extra money. I get the feeling you would be served just as well from a dimarzio or basslines setup than Nord.

3. JellinWellen

JellinWellen

Oct 18, 2012
    Texas
    The babicz and dimarzio model P and J would be the best way to go. Or some seymour duncan spb2s-4s.

4. joelb79

joelb79

Mar 22, 2006
    Lansing, Michigan
    SPB-4 and an SJ2b-STK bridge? Yep great idea!