Fender Ameican Deluxe Zone vs Victor Bailey Jazz?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by marwady, Jul 17, 2005.

1. marwady

marwady Supporting Member

Jul 9, 2005
    Northern Michigan
    Hello All,

This is my first post to this forum and first of all, I would like to thank you all for all of the great info available here. If you can't find it here, you probably didn't need it in the first place.

As it is my first post, I will tell you a little about myself.

I am 52 now and have been playing bass on and off for the better part of my life (since I was about 12). I made a living from it for about 25 years and then took some time off to pursue another career.

Back in the day when I was a working musician, It was tough for me to justify having more than one instrument. The money always went towards somthing else more important (like rent and food!). I have some "extra" cash now so I am indulging myself. A couple of years ago, I started collecting some instruments and have aquired some nice ones. I have started to play again for fun (and some profit) and I am loving it.

Here is my question:

Fender's American Deluxe Zone looks very interesting to me. Posts say the quality is good and it seems like the humbuckers would add a different tone to the traditional P or J sound. So far, I have not been able to find one locally to play.

I have a Victor Bailey Jazz that I really like. I would describe it's tone as a vintage Jazz on steroids with no noise. I am wondering if there would be enough difference in tone to make getting the Zone worthwhile.

Have any of you had the chance to play both?

Thanks in advance for your advice.
  2. pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound