Fender American Hot Rodded P-Bass vs Peavey Cirrus

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dmaki, Dec 23, 2000.

1. dmaki

Apr 29, 2000
    I've been playing bass for a little over a year now and need a new bass. My Ibanez GSR 200 w/ EMG's just isn't cutting it, so I'm looking to get a new bass. I've been considering my options for a few months now, and I think I've narrowed it down to an Fender American Hot Rodded P-Bass and a Peavey Cirrus. I want a bass that will be able to cut through and that would be good for punk, rock, reggae, and slap; which they both seem to be, so I guess I'm just wondering which one you would get and why.

2. Bernie

Dec 12, 1999
    Ive not had a chance to try the new Peavys.From what i hear including BP Mags review they're excellent.I have played the HR-P.Nice bass but i prefer the A Std P.It sounded to me like the J pup was "bleeding" in even with its vol all the way down.It has a brighter more aggresive tone than the std P.Anyway,if you decide to go with a Fender,at least the old/leftover MIA Std's now IS the time.Both MF and Zzounds have great deals going on them.Also check the FDP site for "Offbase"s A series Jazz.I can vouch for him as a good honest person you can trust to buy a used bass from.Remember this is the "new" American Series Jazz so its quite a good deal he's offering.If i hadnt just bought an RB-5 id grab it myself.Good luck!
  3. nanook

Feb 9, 2000
    The Peavey is the clear winner.
  4. ButCirrusly

Dec 11, 2000
    Most definetly go with the Cirrus! I've had mine for a year now and it has never let me down on tone, playability, sustaine or punch! Excellent "Bang" for the buck! It's also a very beautiful piece of workmanship!
    (But this is only my opinion!) Check out some on the Bass player mags on the reviews!
  5. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

Of these 2, definitely the Peavey.

Better in workmanship, neck comfort(if that's important) and versatility.