1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fender American P Bass vs. G&L L2000

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by GWFA, Oct 21, 2010.

1. GWFA

GWFA

Oct 21, 2010
    I'm in the market for a new bass. I would love to hear people's thoughts on either of these. I'm fairly new to bass, especially bass gear. Thanks in advance for the advice!

2. Need2KnowBasses

Need2KnowBasses

Aug 30, 2010
    Both are great. The P would most likely be a little easier to dial in your tone on but wouldn't have as many tonal options. If your trying to decide between the two I would recommend playing both and make your decision from there.

3. GWFA

GWFA

Oct 21, 2010
    I'm having alot of trouble finding an L2000 at any of my guitar shops nearby. If I can find G&L's anywhere, they're usually tributes, which I don't want from what I hear from people in comparison to the regular series.

4. NineSpine

NineSpine

Jun 19, 2007
    Both G&L and Fender have questionable quality control, and that's the only reason anyone should warn you about a Tribute model. If you can pick up the Tribute and play it yourself, inspect it, etc. then you don't have to worry about that quality control. It only comes into play ordering sight-unseen.

These are my two favorite basses. I have a hard time recommending an L-2000 over a P to someone who is new to bass, despite the fact that the L-2000 gives you significantly more tonal options, and it has all the fancy bells and whistles you could ask for.

The P is kind of the "standard". You won't have a ton of tonal options or features, but what you have will be fantastic. It's hard to go wrong with a P. As a beginner, it won't have you fiddling around with buttons and knobs trying to get a good sound. It will sound wonderful right out of the box and it will fit in whatever kind of music you want to use it for.