1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fender American specials

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Johntheson, Jul 6, 2014.

1. for quite some time now, I've been seeing ebay listings, and new sales listings for Am Special basses. Fender has so many different models now it's difficult to keep up. When I started playing in 62, and for the longest time afterwards we had just the P and the J. Anyway what place does the Am special fill? Is it as good as the Am. series, or Am, standard? Thanks in advance for any info.
    John Sr.

2. Jeff K

Jeff K Supporting Member

Jul 9, 2005
    Memphis, TN
    Well, I've had a bunch of American Standards/American Series basses over the years, both P and Jazz. Recently picked up my first American Special (a used hand-stained nitro Honeyburst P). I'm pretty sure the pickups are the ones that were used on the Am. Stds. from 2008-'11. And instead of the newer "High Mass Vintage" bridge, it comes with the old-style, top-load only bent steel bridge. I prefer top-loading anyway, so no big deal to me.

Sounds and plays really nice, and I love the neck. If you buy one new, it comes with a gig bag versus a hard case with the Am. Stds. I don't see any drop in quality between the Specials and the Am. Stds. You're just not getting a case with it. I'm really liking mine a lot.

3. perkjos

perkjos

Mar 10, 2013
    Atlanta