Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender Bass VI

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by superbassman2000, Aug 25, 2004.

1. ok guys and gals, i need some help here.
    as many here know, i have been GASing for a fender bass VI for about four years now. i finally have started to get serious about saving up for one, but i need to know how much a can expect to pay for one. i am not looking to buy one now, but i should probably need to know how much i need!
    btw, it doesn't have to be vintage, i heard that Fender reissued one in '95 (treena told me i think), and my guess is that one would be a little cheaper, so please, anyone with a fender bass VI, how much can i expect to pay?

Thanks,
    Charlie

2. mr e

mr e

Nov 17, 2003
    nyc
  3. yes, thanks...
    i saw the hellcat VI already, and would rather have the fender,
    and toasted, thanks, but thats a fender bass V. one off.

Thanks,
    Charlie

4. JPJ

JPJ

Apr 21, 2001
    Chicago, IL
    The prices will vary widely depending on what you actually want to get. You could try to find a new reissue (if they still make them) or a used one, and the price will largely be determined by color and condition. If you want to try to find an original, the prices will vary even more depending on whether the instruments have been modified, refinished, and what condition the instrument is in. For an original (100%, no refin and all orig. parts), in excellent or better condition, they could be pretty pricey. If you're OK with a slightly modified VI or one that has been refinished, you could probably get a much better deal. Check out Elderly Music and Gruhn Guitars for examples of what you might expect to pay for an original....if that's what you're interested in.

5. knuckle_head

knuckle_head Commercial User

Jul 30, 2002
    Seattle
    Owner; Knuckle Guitar Works & Circle K Strings