1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fender Bassman 4x10 and 1x15 - What Amp would be optimal?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by GENRLEE, Jul 27, 2012.

1. GENRLEE

GENRLEE

Jul 16, 2012
    Hi.

I'm a newb here and have seen several posts about amps and wattages and cabs but none specifically for what I am needing. My current rig is a Fender Bassman 250 Head powering a Fender Bassman 4x10 and Bassman 1x15 cab. The cabs are rated at 8ohms. The 4x10 shows 700 Watts (Program) and 350 Watts (Continuous) at 8 ohms. The 1x15 shows 500 Watts (program) and 250 Watts (Continuous).

The head is just a 250 Watt head. I know I'm not getting the full 250 watts when using both cabs. I'm wanting to upgrade my head to at least a 500 or 600 watt. What would be the best configuration needed for what I'm looking for?

Please don't use any technical jargon as I don't know what any of it means. :eyebrow: Just simple layman's terms will suffice. Thank you in advance!!

The style of music I play varies from Blues to Rock to Hard Rock/Classic Rock. If that information helps in any way.

2. GENRLEE

GENRLEE

Jul 16, 2012
    As a reply to the original msg, Recently I played through an Acoustic B600H head and loved it. Did not play through my cabs though but used the 8x10 Acoustic cab that came with the head. The Acoustic shwos it is a 600 watt head at 2 ohms, 450 @ 4 ohms and 250 @ 8 ohms. If using this head on my fender cabs, would I get the 450 watts to both cabs since my each of my cabs are rated at 8 ohms?

3. Pilgrim

Pilgrim Supporting Member

If you don't want any technical jargon, you're never going to learn what you're doing. If you work with electrical equipment, you need to understand it.