Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender Bassman 60!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by WATCHTHECHORD, Nov 7, 2003.

1. WATCHTHECHORD

WATCHTHECHORD

Oct 28, 2003
    NewYork
    Im interested in buying this amp combo for my home practice use, i am a beginner and just need a good quality practice amp for a few years, does anybody have any experience with this set-up..local sam ash has it for 389.99....thanks in advance.

2. I bought one used at GC for 275 and it's worked pretty well for what it does (also home practice). But if I could go back and choose again I'd probably just pick up the Bassman 25. It's a great little amp that has neat features (CD-in, which my old 60 doesn't have) and it's A LOT lighter and more compact, so lugging it around from room to room (sometimes you gotta) is a breeze. Also it's 100 bucks cheaper new. Don't get me wrong though. I like my 60. But now that I've had a year or two of practicing under my belt I find that portability is a really good thing (which is why I also have a Peavey Microbass).

3. I'd definately recommend this amp.

I play my warwick thumb BO 4 through it and I loooove the sound. :D

Fender amps in general are nice though... if you want a good sounding practice amp go with the 25 or 60.

4. Gus Autine

Gus Autine

Aug 25, 2000
    New York, NY
    I second Infernal Affair's suggestion. I have the Bassman 25 and am very pleased with not only its features, sound, size and weight, but also its output. It has been plenty loud for a number of small venue gigs (without drums and with only tastefully amplified guitars of course).

5. WATCHTHECHORD

WATCHTHECHORD

Oct 28, 2003
    NewYork