1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fender Bassman Rumbling

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mynameisjack2, Jan 25, 2012.

1. mynameisjack2

mynameisjack2

Jun 22, 2009
    Dallas, TX
    I've done a bit of searching and can't seem to find an answer.

I recently got a 70s Fender Bassman 100, I like it a whole lot, but I've noticed that sometimes it produces a hum (sounds a lot like a rumbling oscillation) I've checked to make sure it's nothing in cable (it does it without anything being plugged in) and I've noticed that tapping or moving it causes it to stop for a bit. Sometimes it will stop for 10 seconds, others for hours. The previous owner mentioned that the power cable wasn't properly grounded, could that be the issue? If not, where do I start checking for problems? I'm a newbie to tubes, so I don't know much about them.

Thanks!

2. charlie monroe

charlie monroe Gold Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2011
    Buffalo, NY
    I don't know if this is causing your hum. It likely is. I do know that you need to put a 3 prong grounded plug on that thing right away. It is not safe. Tube amps use very high voltages.

I have a Bassman 100 also. Dead as nails right now, but it shall live again.

3. mynameisjack2

mynameisjack2

Jun 22, 2009
    Dallas, TX
    I'm not entirely sure how to go about doing that. It's a three prong plug right now, but I don't believe the 3rd prong is effectively grounded. He said that the power cable was not original, how do I go about replacing the cable with a new grounded one?

4. BogeyBass

BogeyBass

Sep 14, 2010
    Its hard to tell from your description if its mains 60hz hum or if its self oscillation.

Buying a old tube amp is a investment and usually requires a nice clean up and then its golden.