Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

FENDER EXPERTS: does my '68 Jazz have a non-standard neck?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Keef, Oct 1, 2005.

1. Keef

Keef

Jul 3, 2003
    Hollywood, CA
    Everything I find online says that a Fender Jazz Bass has a 1-1/2" width at the nut, including the '60s reissues. My Jazz is an original from 1968, but the neck at the nut clearly has a width of 1-3/8". The Jazz necks that Warmoth offers also state a width of 1-1/2.

What gives? Is my beloved Jazz some kind of freak? Here's a pic with a ruler:

[​IMG]

Any info appreciated,

~ Keef

2. Keef

Keef

Jul 3, 2003
    Hollywood, CA
    Hmm, I thought folks would be all over this thread – maybe it's not so uncommon to have an oddly-sized Fender neck.

FWIW, the size feels great to me.

~ K

•

3. beadgc

beadgc

Oct 10, 2003
    Brooklyn, NY
    I'm not an expert, but am an interested amateur. I have a copy of "The Fender Bass: An Illustrated History," by Black and Molinaro, and it doesn't seem to have the info you need. I looked around on the web, and found an article on Fender neck widths by a guy at "20th Century Guitar" magazine. Though he doesn't answer the question either (he's mostly talking guitars), at the bottom of the page he asks people with questions to email him, and includes his address. Maybe he can solve the mystery.
    http://www.jag-stang.com/MrMaxima/gpphotos/neckcode.htm