Fender Jazz 5 string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ultramangeos, Sep 7, 2001.

1. I am a fan of Fender's basses. I am just starting out with my 2001 MIM Jazz 4 string. Of course I am always dreaming about the next step in my evolution.
    I do not see many players out there using the 5 string American Jazz Bass. Is there a problem with that Bass? Something in the sound, or playability that I as a newbie am not trained to recognize.
    I saw the Bassist for a band called Shootyz Groove uses one pretty effectively, but hardly anyone else:confused:
  2. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    IMO, the low B on the American Jazz doesn't sound very good. I don't much like the low B on the Am Dlx Precision, either.
  3. Yeah that's a nice way to put it i personally think it sounds like sh*t. the good thing about the jazz 5 however is that is has wide string spacing wich would facilitate my mac daddy slap skills :cool:
  4. a 5 string fender jazz is kind of sacrilege anyway eh? :p
  5. FalsehoodBass

Jul 22, 2001
    Denver, CO
    i played the american delux precision and thought that the B string sounded awesome... it had an ash body and a maple fretboard... i was quite impressed, as i normally don't like fender so much. just my input.. i know that bass player really liked the delux jazz 5..i remember reading the article...
  6. i don't think i will ever go above or below 4 string basses

i used to have a 6-string Ibanez Soungear and i liked it for several months, but then i began to hate it!!!

i am so happy with my L-2000.

and as far as 5-string Fender Jazz basses...get a 4 string...

why do ppl nowadays feel the need for a B-string?!?!
  7. Nino Valenti

Nino Valenti Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 2, 2001
    Staten Island NYC
    Builder: Valenti Basses
  8. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member