Fender jazz basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Niall, Nov 26, 2002.

1. Niall

Nov 26, 2002
    Calgary AB Canada
    Hi, im new here, and i've been playing bass for about four years now, and thinking of getting a new bass soon. I know that i want to get a fender jazz bass, american standard, but whats the difference between the american standard and the regular standard jazz bass? If anyone here has ever had one of these, could they please help me out so i can make an easier dewcision.

2. Hehehe.

EDIT: Try a Search in the forums, you'll find more information than you can possibly take in.
  3. Stu L.

Stu L. Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2001
    Corsicana, Texas
    Is that a new bass? J-A-Z-Z, I like the sound of that;)
  4. 1964

Mar 26, 2002
    Too Close To Hell
    Remember that when you compare MIA Series' (no longer known as Stds) with MIM Stds you have to compare current models with current models, or specific MIA models vs specific MIM models. MIA vs MIM simply generates broad generalisations.

The current ASe basses are superior to all the previous AmStds, and are of course better than the MIM Stds...premium wood, graphite reinforced rolled-edge neck, better hardware. The latest (post-July 2001) MIM Stds are as good or better than many 90's AmStds.
  5. Davygravy3

Sep 21, 2000
    I had this same dilemma about a year ago when my squier was literally falling apart...I like to throw it against things and take it apart even more...

Anyway I got the MIM, this was only because I was paying for the bass and 300 was better than 800. However...I did play the MIA. And I am not that much into the parts and upgrades dealing with basses. When I played the MIA the body was heavier, the neck smoother, and the whole bass felt more clean, smooth, and comfortable. Then I picked up the MIM and its neck was a little less smooth, the body a little lighter, and a tad less comfortable.