Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender Jazz vs. Precision

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by gsummer, Feb 11, 2001.

1. gsummer

gsummer

Feb 11, 2001
    Hey guys,
    I'm looking to buy a new bass and I just wanted to get some opinions from people who have played both Fender J and P basses. Which kind do you like better and why. I know that it is really a matter of personal taste, but I just wanted to hear some other people's opinions. Also, on a more specific note, has anyone played the american hot rodded series? They look interesting to me. As far as the styles of music I play there is a pretty big range. I need something that will work for my Jazz workshop (yep I'm a college student) and also for blues, funk, and a little slap. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
    Thanks

2. alembicbones

alembicbones

Nov 10, 2000
    Seattle, WA
    I prefer the Jazz to the Precision. I just picked up an American Deluxe Jazz 5 string and think it's a great bass. I believe it's versatility would suit your needs nicely.

Bones

3. The jazz does orthodox slap better than the P because the bridge pickup gives emphasis to the top end.

Other than that, try and see. I play a P. But I don't slap.

Andy

4. Albino_Ryno

Albino_Ryno Guest

Sep 17, 2000
    Knoxville TN
    Personally, I prefer the jazz bass. Right now I'm playing an Alvarez with a P-J style pickup configuration. Honestly I don't like the blended sound all that much. I either end up fading it to the P pickup and plaing with a pick to get that green day type sound or putting more emphasis on the J for my slapping, jazz, funk, and pretty much 90% of the stuff I play. Right now I'm looking into buying a Fender Deluxe Active jazz bass mainly because I love active electronics, and it's within my price range. But that's just my opinion.

5. gsummer

gsummer

Feb 11, 2001