Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender MiM

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by FenderKid2001, Aug 14, 2000.

1. FenderKid2001

FenderKid2001

Aug 11, 2000
    I am new to basses and such. I was wondering if you could me some info on the Fender MiM Bass?

Post Pics, info, anything...

Thank you!

-Jason :oops:

2. MJB

MJB

Mar 17, 2000
  3. FenderKid2001

FenderKid2001

Aug 11, 2000
    :)

Thanks. I have been to that site many times, but I can't tell which is the MIA or which is the MiM.

Thank you for you help though

4. Bernie

Bernie

Dec 12, 1999
    Jason,the MIM basses are refered to there as the Standard J/P,Active dlx J,Deluxe P.The MIA are called American series,American dlx.The artist sigs are MIA.Good luck!

5. MJB

MJB

Mar 17, 2000
    Jason, the MIA all have the word "American" in the series. The only ones that don't are the Jaco bass, Roscoe Beck and Stu Hamm (I think I got them all). The Geddy Lee, the Marcus Miller and the "Lyte" basses are Japanese. The rest are MIM.

Mike

6. FenderKid2001

FenderKid2001

Aug 11, 2000
    ahhh, Ok.. I get it!

:)

Thank you everyone...

7. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    California
    "That don't are"???

Anyway, Jason:

I went to guitar center today and since I was there, I took a gander at the MIM Fenders, as well as the Squiers. I was quite impressed by the sound of the Affinity P-Bass. It had a nice, punchy sound. I should mention, however, that It was plugged into a $1500 rig. Regardless of that fact, I found the instrument playable and for the sticker price of $149, I think it couldn't be much better. I was actually less impressed with the MIM Precision, which costs twice as much.

both basses has some hiss when you turned the treble all the way, but other thann that they sounded good.

Will C.

8. MJB

MJB

Mar 17, 2000