1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fender Mustang/Musicmaster question...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dereksilloway, Jul 30, 2012.

1. How hard would it be to fit Mustang pickups into a Musicmaster body?

I have a musicmaster bass body and would really like for it to have the 2 p setup of the Mustang. Besides the pickguard (which I can buy new) what, if any mods would I have to do to make the Mustang pickups work?

Thanks for your help!

2. silentmike

silentmike

May 20, 2011
    Bristol, UK
    You're going to have to route the body for the new pickup. If you're inexperienced with routers, I'd suggest getting a luthier to do it for you. It shouldn't cost too much. The other thing that I can see happening is that the new pickguard holes most likely won't be in the same place as the old ones. You will probably have to get them drilled, but a luthier can do that too.

3. Thanks silentmike.
    Im really new to Fender basses and will get a luthier to do this for me as you suggested.
    Thanks again!

4. 48thStreetCustom

48thStreetCustom

Nov 30, 2005
    Colorado
  5. Thats a great link dude...thanks for posting it.
    Does anyone know where I could get the electronics for this project? I dont even know where to start (like I said Im a complete Fender novice)

6. 48thStreetCustom

48thStreetCustom

Nov 30, 2005
    Colorado
    I've heard a lot of good things about the Nordstand NM4 pickups (but you have to get Mustang PU covers):
    http://www.talkbass.com/forum/f38/nordstrand-nm4-mustang-replacement-737700/

Here's some sound clips:
    http://www.bassramblings.com/2010/12/30/review-nordstrand-nm4-mustang-bass-pickups/

Here's a Mustang wiring diagram:
    http://zeus.lunarpages.com/~jimshi2/wiringdiagrams/mustangbass.jpg