Fender Nylon Filament Roundwounds

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Captain_joe6, Jul 15, 2005.

1. I'm looking for any information I can get on these strings. I want to know about durability, sound (preferably through magnetic pickups), feel, the works. Any reviews or thoughts you guys have would be great!
  2. Thurisarz

Aug 20, 2004
    +1 I want to know to
  3. :cool: Don't know if my experiences are of any value to you, but here goes.

I've been using these strings on my fretless P-Bass for the last two years; and my previous fretless J-Bass for about three years. I really do like them. Can't speak for how they would sound on a fretted bass, though.

Feel: They've got a real nice, smooth feel to them. Not like flat wounds, or flat tape-wounds, but kinda' velvety, but short velvety. They are fairly low in tension so you really can't "lay into" them without getting some string slap. They're also almost dead quiet, making no noticeable noise from your fingers.

Looks: They're black, so they definitely have a distinctive look on your bass. I think they look nice, and on my fretless they look very much "at home".

Cost: Relatively inexpensive. I get them from "Just Strings", current price is $26.86 a set.

Set up: You will have to redo your setup. 1. Due to the low tension, the neck will flatten out, possibly go convex on you depending upon what you had on there before. Not a problem as long as you readjust it. 2. Due to their rather large size on the G and D strings (they're .070-.080-.090-.100), you'll probably have to open up the G and D string nut slots, I did. If you don't, you may run into tuning problems with the strings hanging up in the slot, I did. 3. Of course, you'll have to redo the bridge, intonation and height.