Fender Precision vs Jazz

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by wannabe_bassist, May 7, 2002.

1. wannabe_bassist

wannabe_bassist Guest

Jan 25, 2002
    Still being new to all this.....what is the difference between these types of basses?

I know about P and J and P/J pickups but what is the difference in their sound and application.

As a beginning bassist, should I get a Precision or a Jazz and why?

2. the j-bass has a thinner neck
    the j-bass has an off set body

there more...
  3. Stu L.

Stu L. Supporting Member

Nov 27, 2001
    Corsicana, Texas
    I'm no expert. That being said, this is what I know. The P neck is wider than the J. They say the J body is a little heavier, the P smaller. The bodies are cut differently, just look at them. Most importantly, try one of each. Go to GC or somewhere close by, tell the salesman either "just looking" or what your doing. By the end of your trip, YOU decide what you like. Not my opinion, the salesman's, or anyone here at TB. You be the judge.
  4. embellisher

embellisher Holy Ghost filled Bass Player Staff Member Supporting Member

They will both work very well in almost any type of music.

The P is full and bassy sounding. The Jazz is a little thinner(for the most part), growlier and has a lot of mids. The Jazz is also a little more versatile, with two pickups you can solo or blend.

Do a search, there have probably been 100 threads on Jazz vs. P bass.
  5. barroso

Aug 16, 2000
    if you play kicking rock'n roll buy a precision. otherwise a jazz.
  6. Check out the Laklands before you buy. If you can't afford the US models the Skylines are their new production (Fender equivilent only better) models and are truly superb. I just played them at the Lakland Shop and if I had not already ordered the US I would have picked up a Skyline. Still might now that I have a US Jazz, I need a P bass.
  7. I would say the P-Bass has a classic rock and roll sound to it.:D ;) :D
  8. wannabe_bassist

wannabe_bassist Guest