Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender Precision vs. SX

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kingurth, Mar 7, 2006.

1. I'm a beginner bassist (only been playing for four months) and I just got my first bass in January. It's an SX VPB57 (at least, I think...most of the SX basses look the same) and I realized that it looks identical to the Fender Precision bass in every way, except for the position of the screws on the pickguard.

So what I want to know is which came first, why is one an exact copy of the other, how I can tell the difference between SX guitars, which one is the better bass, etc.

From what I could gather, the SX is both cheaper and has a higher customer satisfaction rate.

2. Cowboy Pope

Cowboy Pope

Nov 17, 2005
    The Fender P has been around for many decades. It came long first, and is generally regarded as being higher quality. I personally cannot stand them, but they are the industry standard in many ways, and remain the most copied basses ever.

SX took the design and built a knockoff for whatever reason it is that people build knockoffs. Not to say that that's a bad thing, SX is a very good company for beginners.

As far as telling them apart, look at the headstock. One will say Fender, one will not. You'd be getting something better in the Fender (usually), but you'd be paying many times more for it. An SX is a great place to start.

Welcome to the boards, and bassing in general!

3. Minger

Minger

Mar 15, 2004
    Rochester, NY
    SX Guitars
    62 model - Rosewood fingerboard, alder body
    57 - maple fingerboard, alder body (I think)
    75 - maple fingerboard, ash body (can be heavy, also the only ones they have that have a natural finish in)