Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender Question....

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JehuJava, Dec 3, 2004.

1. JehuJava

JehuJava Bass Frequency Technician

Oct 15, 2002
    Oakland, CA
    I'm new to Fender. I was against them for the last 15 years because I thought they were too mainstream, etc. So, I finally played one, loved it, and I bought this used 5 string american jazz. I know nothing about it though.

What is the difference between the double pole pick-ups and the hefty single pole pick-ups?

I think this is a Deluxe model with the 4 knobs...which one is the mid knob? The tiny 4th one?

Al

2. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001
    Pakistani compound
    The deluxe version has the 1/4 inch slugs (pups and electronics are MIA) It also has the four knob setup with the jack located on the side of the body.
    The standard version has three knobs with dual pole pups. The jack is located on the control plate under the little knob.

The first knob closest to the pup is volume, the next knob is pup pan, the stacked knob (big) is bass and the top (small) is treble, the bottom knob is the mid.

3. ApeIsHigh81

ApeIsHigh81

Aug 24, 2004
    CA
    Your singer has quite a set of legs :)

I've only tested them out quickly in stores but if I can recall it is the 4 tiny knob. Doesn't seem like it makes a difference, huh?

4. JehuJava

Oct 15, 2002
    Oakland, CA
    I didn't get a distinct impression that one was treb and the other was mid either. I just kinda figured the stacked pot woul be bass and treb.

Thanks for checkin out the website...she can belt it out too.

Al

5. JehuJava

Oct 15, 2002
    Oakland, CA
    Is there a sound difference between the two. It seems more beefy of a sound...I'm not sure if I just hear that because I switched from a Warwick Infinity SN...too much mid for me.

Al

6. pyrohr

pyrohr

Aug 28, 2001