1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fender Rumble 200 and 112 for Home

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BigDrew, Jan 22, 2017.

1. BigDrew

BigDrew

Jun 1, 2016
    LI-NY
    Hello all,

I have a Rumble 500 v3. I like it, but I started playing about 2 years ago and I play only at home. I play at a pretty low volume and I don't get a very thick tone at this volume. I happened to play a Rumble 500 head into a Rumble 112 cabinet and I thought that it sounded more full at a low volume. Am I crazy? For my needs, would a Rumble 200 head into a 112 be fuller at low volume for practice at home?

Separately, I was looking at the Ampeg PF-20T and the 50T. In my research it seemed like the 20T would be more than enough for me at home, but since the 50T has more in it (DI, etc.) maybe that it is a possibility? Sorry for the rant...

2. ((KamiKaZe))

((KamiKaZe))

Aug 5, 2010
    i am in the same situation, and the amps you are considering are the same I am considering too, i am more inclined to the Fender Rumble V3 100 for a cheap alternative and the Ampeg PF20-T for the "luxury m" one, the Ampeg is excellent for recording too but don't have a headphones output jack

3. The Rumble 100 doesn't support an external cab if that matters to you.
    I have the 200 combo and get all kinds of low end with "at home" volumes for what that may be worth to you.
    15" vs 12" does not automatically mean the 12" won't go as low as the 15.
    There is a lot more to it than speaker size.
    If you like the 500 with the 1x12, then you should like the 200 with the same speaker.

Aqualung60 and dbbltime like this.
  4. BigDrew

BigDrew

Jun 1, 2016
    LI-NY
    The funny thing is that I was going to "downgrade" to the Rumble 200 because I really liked the sound of the 15", but the 112 sounded great. I hope other people chime in here!

5. BigDrew

BigDrew

Jun 1, 2016