1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fender Setup vs others

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Warfender, Jul 25, 2012.

1. Warfender

Warfender

Oct 25, 2009
    First off I've setup dozens of basses and most not Fender so I'm not a beginner but not a pro luthier by any means. However, I have a really killer sounding Squier PBASS Special and can't for the life of me get it to not fret buzz (mainly above the 10th-11th fret area). I have set the relief within spec and had to raise action almost all the way up with is double that of most basses. I tried less and more relief as well as shimmed the upper pocket to try and kick the neck out a bit. The shimming helped a little bit but not sure if I should shim a bunch for this issue. Any ideas?

I've never experience a bad fret job but wondering if this could be the case. What is a normal fret leveling cost?

2. GroovinOnFunk

GroovinOnFunk Supporting Member

Apr 30, 2008
    San Diego, CA
    Endorses Cleartone and SIT Strings
    Sounds like a bad fret job.
    It's part if buying a bass that sounds like $800 but costs $200

3. webelo

webelo

Jun 7, 2011
    Douglas, MA
    This is probably better suited for the Hardware and Setup page.

4. vince a

vince a

Jun 13, 2006
    Modesto, CA
    Sometimes relief specs just won't do . . . rule of thumb . . . string buzz below the sixth fret, you generally need to loosen the neck . . . above the sixth fret, as in your case, you generally need to tighten up the neck. Of course, there are other things that could cause your issue, but if I were setting your bass up, this is where I would start!

5. Warfender

Warfender

Oct 25, 2009