Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender "style" 6 string bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dancinDaveNY, Aug 30, 2005.

1. dancinDaveNY

dancinDaveNY

Sep 27, 2001
    Western NY
    I've been playing 6 string basses for a couple years now and have developed some sort of 'my style' I guess. I'd like to stick with the 6 strings but ever since I've been playing 6 string basses I've been unable to play Fenders. I know there's a bunch of Fender spinoffs out there like Sadowsky, Lakland, Lull and a bunch more. I just haven't been able to find one that makes a 6 string. Do any of you lowenders know of a boutique(ish) Fender style bass company that makes a 6 string? I put the feelers out to Dan Lakin and Roger Sadowsky and they don't want to make a 6 string. They say it takes too much to make the neck for the amount of basses that they'd sell. Anybody got any ideas?
    hoping...dD

2. Oops I meant the low end. edit

3. Cliff Bordwell

Cliff Bordwell Commercial User

Jan 6, 2004
    USA , Orlando , Florida
    Owner of CB BASSES
  4. I believe Fender custom shop has made a few. There were some pictures of a six string Fender Jazz a while ago. Anything is possible, but price is going to be up there, for sure. Rather than getting a Fender styled six string, you could get a six string bass that gets close to the Fender sound. I've heard good things about F-Bass in this regard.

5. Poon

Poon

May 20, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA

Try a Low End Jazz. www.thelowend.net

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

6. When Greg Curbow stopped by one of our GTG's here in Atlanta, he brought his latest and greatest creation - a 6 string Jazz. This was long before LowEnd or anyone was building anything like it. And even now, they can't build anything like this one - it weighed less than 6 lbs!! :eek: No BS, it was that light. Just ask Woodchuck!

RIP Greg.

7. James Hart