Fender Tube Amp Woes

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassJunkie730, Feb 28, 2005.

1. BassJunkie730

BassJunkie730

Feb 3, 2005
    Brooklyn
    Hello venerable TB'ers,

I have a dilemma. About 9 months ago I bought a Fender Bassman 70 (with the Ultra Linear output section). I bought is modified though. I was told that the amp had been "blackfaced" and I can see that a choke has beend added to accomodate the 6550 tube change. I take black-facing as decreasing headroom - however the amp ran fine and all was good. Until... I started playing with a band. then the amp just couldn't hold up anymore. I was using a 410 at the time and I was wondering if the cab is the critical flaw. Iwas also using a Berg NV610 which sounded great. Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to play in the band situation with it because I started to get some serious crackle and farting (at certain notes especially low notes). I really really want to keep this head, but since I basically dime it - I wonder if i'm beating the **** out of it for a volume level that I may never get. I do also have an Avalon U5 which I adore.
    So How can I improve my stage volume with a 100watt (possible, I don't know the 6550 pair runs at now though) tube head, since I'll send the rest of the signal FOH via my U5.

All in all it really is a killer setup my Dirnt P-bass into the fender bassman 70 into what could be a bergie nv610 or at least a 1-15. I just need more volume - you can keep your headroom :)

Thank you

2. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    Look for a Fender Bassman 135 on ebay. Same amp, but double the power.

3. Ben Clarke

Ben Clarke Liquidating to fund a new business. Buy My Gear!

Jan 6, 2005
    Western NY
    That'll only give you 3dB more on a good day.