Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fender Tube Amp Woes

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassJunkie730, Feb 28, 2005.

1. BassJunkie730

BassJunkie730

Feb 3, 2005
    Brooklyn
    Hello venerable TB'ers,

I have a dilemma. About 9 months ago I bought a Fender Bassman 70 (with the Ultra Linear output section). I bought is modified though. I was told that the amp had been "blackfaced" and I can see that a choke has beend added to accomodate the 6550 tube change. I take black-facing as decreasing headroom - however the amp ran fine and all was good. Until... I started playing with a band. then the amp just couldn't hold up anymore. I was using a 410 at the time and I was wondering if the cab is the critical flaw. Iwas also using a Berg NV610 which sounded great. Unfortunately I didn't get a chance to play in the band situation with it because I started to get some serious crackle and farting (at certain notes especially low notes). I really really want to keep this head, but since I basically dime it - I wonder if i'm beating the **** out of it for a volume level that I may never get. I do also have an Avalon U5 which I adore.
    So How can I improve my stage volume with a 100watt (possible, I don't know the 6550 pair runs at now though) tube head, since I'll send the rest of the signal FOH via my U5.

All in all it really is a killer setup my Dirnt P-bass into the fender bassman 70 into what could be a bergie nv610 or at least a 1-15. I just need more volume - you can keep your headroom :)

Thank you

2. The 0x

The 0x

Aug 24, 2003
    Timonium, MD
    Look for a Fender Bassman 135 on ebay. Same amp, but double the power.

3. Ben Clarke

Ben Clarke Liquidating to fund a new business. Buy My Gear!

Jan 6, 2005
    Western NY
    That'll only give you 3dB more on a good day.