Fender tube bass heads

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by register, May 2, 2003.

1. register

Mar 31, 2002
    Just wondering if anybody can tell me about old Fender tube heads for bass, like the Bassman (50w), Bassman 100, or Studio Bass. I know the old Bassmans (Bassmen?) are now popular for guitar players, but what about with a bass? I'm using a 70s Ampeg B-25B that's great, but volume is my best friend....

2. Back 68 when I started playing Fender made the Bassman which was around 50 watts (2x6L6's) and I believe their big amp was called the Dual Showman which was around 100 watts (4x6L6's). My first Fender amp after my Silvertone was a Fender Bassman with a small 2x12 cab. I used it with the college stage band and it was perfect. The thing got stollen right out of the equipment room. I always felt like the Fender tube bass amps were kinda like weak sisters compared to the Standel, Acoustics and the Sunns of the day though. They really weren't designed for bass but were more of a guitar amp. I've got a book at home that lists and describes every amp Fender ever made up to the publishing date. I'll PM the title info to you when I get home.
  3. jondog

Mar 14, 2002
    NYC metro area
    I do not like vintage Fenders for bass. They sound mushy to me. There are many other vintage choices that will get you more definition.
  4. the only thing i know about fender tube amps is that i recorded with one and absolutely loved the sound i got from it.

it wasn't a head, though. it was from a combo, with the amplifier section sawed off. we ran it through a 215 about which i know nothing. the sound was really juicy and "sproingy". it didn't lack definition at all. it was really cool.

5. red40

Mar 25, 2003
    Wilmington, DE
    Apparently this is the holy grail of Fender bass amps:

I haven't managed to track one down but it probably sounds a bit different than a typical Bassman. More like an SVT, except even bigger and meaner if that is at all possible.