Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fiddlesticks!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Whafrodamus, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whafrodamus

Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
  2. tplyons

tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
  3. slowburnaz

slowburnaz

Mar 27, 2002
    Tucson, AZ
    Why would you bid on something you really don't want?

4. If you win it, and don't want it, I'll take it off your hands.

5. oversoul

oversoul fretless by fate

Feb 16, 2004
    Portugal
    *Nelson voice on* HA-HA! *Nelson voice off*

:D

6. 4string4ever

4string4ever Guest

Apr 18, 2004
    Orlando, Florida
    I'm pretty new to Ebay. What are snipers? I have a bid in on a p bass at the moment and from the sound of it, seems they could ruin my day.....

7. snipers are people who use programs to bid a certain amount higher than the highest bid in the last few seconds of the auction. they are the scum of ebay (next to scammers)

8. 4string4ever

4string4ever Guest

Apr 18, 2004
    Orlando, Florida
    bastards..... :spit:

9. mark beem

mark beem Gold Supporting Member

Jul 20, 2001
    New Hope, Alabama
  10. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    BS.

Sniping programs work the same way as an eBay bid, but they don't get placed until the last few seconds. If a sniped bid isn't any higher than another bid, they won't get it. It's a way of out-psyching other bidders by not revealing your interest until the last moment, just like a real auction.

Sniping is effective against low-ball bidders. Not all of us have the time to sit in front of the computer watching items up for auction, so you bid your best offer and see how it comes out.

11. xcental34x

xcental34x

Feb 28, 2003
    Memphrica, TN