1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fifty dollar bass has me flustered

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DerTeufel, Oct 29, 2013.

1. DerTeufel

DerTeufel Supporting Member

Nov 11, 2011
    Wildomar, CA
    I've been playing for almost 4 years. I started with one of those Squier Affinity P-bass starter packs, bought a used Schecter Stiletto 4 months later. A year later that I bought an ESP LTD 5 string, and 4 months later I bought a SBMM Ray35. The SBMM became my main bass and I've been playing and gigging it for for a year and a half. I was happy with it..or so I thought. I sold the Squier P-bass after I had been playing for 6 months, and last weekend, I bought a Squier P-bass special on a whim for $50 bucks. Up until that time, I was sold on the stingray tone..that changed after I brought that Squier home, set it up, and plugged it into the GK MB Fusion and a Seismic Audio 215. Here's a recording that I did to A/B the SBMM and the Squier - https://soundcloud.com/aaronfowler-1/bass-a-b-comparison

Looks like the Squier is gonna get a lot of play time. Just need to figure out where the SBMM fits into the picture :bag:

2. Bert Slide

Bert Slide

May 16, 2012
    Louisville KY
    I fell in love with stingrays and had a 4 and 5 but found my passive jazz and ric just sounded better in the mix for the bands I'm in and what I play. YMMV

3. Crystalman85

Crystalman85

Nov 30, 2008
    Chicago, Il.
    Nice clip...I take it that you like the squire bass more than the stingray. I own a schecter stiletto myself. I like this bass for it's smooth curvacious design and it's versatility. I also like Ibanez soundgear basses for it's smooth punchy sounds. I'm guessing you have found what is the right bass for you. if you like the sound of the bass, keep it.

4. 2cooltoolz

2cooltoolz Supporting Member

Nov 12, 2009
    Lake Conroe, TX