Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fighting the bass

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Gsxtasy99, Apr 9, 2004.

1. Gsxtasy99

Gsxtasy99

Jul 10, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I am rather new to upright, i played on and off in highschool in the orchestra and in jazz band and combos. I have always thought of myself as primarily an electric player, so i never put much practice into the big bass. I had a teacher and used the simandel method. I'm in college now, my practice habits are a lot better, and i have much more desire to play upright.

My problem is playing on the E string. I am perfectly comfortable playing on the G, D, and A, but i feel like i am fighting the bass just to press the string down for a low F or G. Is this an issue of just practicing lots and building up left hand strengh? Or is there a trick to playing the E string comfortably?

2. lermgalieu

lermgalieu Supporting Member

Apr 27, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    From similar experiences, here are the things I have come across in my travails:

1) One time, my bridge got knocked to the side a little (I didn't notice) and my E string was too close to the edge of the fingerboard, making it difficult to play.

2) When I first got my bass, the action was WAY too high, making the E string hard to play.

3) Strings can make a big difference. What kind are you using?

3. Gsxtasy99

Gsxtasy99

Jul 10, 2003
    Boston, MA
    I have spriocore wiechs (sp?) on there. I had pirastro permanants on there before, they were a little easier on the hands but had a poor pizzacto sound. I had the bass setup and had a new bridge put on in this fall by Rutgers in boston. Hopefully the terrible boston weather didn't undo thier work...:confused:

4. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA