Figured, Quilted, Flamed

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by boofis, Mar 13, 2004.

1. Hi
    I'm not very experienced, but I was wondering how you can get a quilt, figured, or flamed piece of wood? Is it how it grows? How its cut? Or is it just a different wood?
  2. FBB Custom

FBB Custom TalkBass Pro Commercial User

Jan 26, 2002
    Owner: FBB Bass Works
    It's all in how the wood grows. These types of figure are generally caused by irregularities in the grain direction of the trees as they grow. When cut, the light reflects off of the differently oriented fibres err... differently, causing flame or quilt.
  3. If you ever want to see exactly why these woods look like they do, try getting a little little field microscope - 30x - or something similiar and take a close look at these specimens. You'll find the smallest fibers aligned into tight curvy patterns. Some of the arcs go sideways to the top grain and some of them go up and down (into the wood) so you get fibers going every direction. The direction of the fibers allows light to penetrate the surface to different depths and this gives you that great variegated pattern.

Some terms for describing figured woods AFAIK:

Figure - Any wood with visible patterning. It refers to grain figure as well as flame figure.

Flame - Generally the "fingerlike" striped figure but the term is used generically for most types of figure.

Quilt - Large, chunky figure appearing like bubbles of padding on a quilt or the bottom of a sandy stream.

Fiddleback - small, narrow and tight flame figure. Called that because of it's popularity in violin construction.

Tiger flame - only gets this designation if the striped fingers originate from opposite sides of the board and, instead of the stripes appearing across the entire width, end near the center of the board and interlace with the others originating from the other side. I know, it's sort of an esoteric delineation.