Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

filing string slots on the badass II...

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by lemonadeisgood, Dec 22, 2002.

1. Yes - I had a luthier do it.

7 vote(s)
    21.2%
  2. Yes - I did it myself.

9 vote(s)
    27.3%
  3. No, I let the strings dig their own grooves.

17 vote(s)
    51.5%
  1. lemonadeisgood

lemonadeisgood

Aug 22, 2001
    Canada
    Did you file string slots for your badass II bridge?

2. You could. I'm sure Hambone and some others would have a good suggestion.

Or ring around some luthiers and ask for pricing. You'd be surprised how effective that can be. You then get the cheapest price and ring back a luthier who sounded the best and ask them to match or better the price. ;)

:D:D

Merls

3. aaron f.

aaron f.

Oct 21, 2000
    Manitoba
    I've been using one for about 2 years now on my MIM Jazz. I let the strings dig themselves in. I haven't had any problems with string movement at all.

4. lemonadeisgood

lemonadeisgood

Aug 22, 2001
    Canada
    How is your string spacing? Even?

5. I have a very simple take on this. The man - Leo Quan himself - states that you should have small detents cut into the saddles for the saddle to work at it's best. That should pretty much say it all. If it doesn't, let me fill things in the way I like to do :rolleyes: