1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Filing the nut was easy

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Super Iridium, Mar 5, 2013.

1. Super Iridium

Super Iridium Supporting Member

Jan 21, 2013
    I am a novice player and bought my bass (Gretsch Junior Jet) from a vendor on eBay. It's been great learning on this instrument, and I love the short scale, small neck and great sound. When I noticed that the strings were especially hard to fret down at the lower notes, I started to do some research on adjusting the string height at the nut. What kept me from taking the plunge immediately, however, were warnings I read that this adjustment should be left to a professional.

Anyway, I went ahead with doing the adjustment myself, and actually, it was easy. I think the key is having the exact right size and type of file. These nut adjustment files are not cheap, and they need to match the gauge of each string that you're working on. I bought my files (a cool Japanese brand) from a vendor on eBay, and these worked just fine for my bass:
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/111009838851?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

In his YouTube video, John Carruthers says that he sets the string height at the first fret to a gap of .022 inches. I was worried about going that low with my bass, so I stopped at .030 inches -- and I think this gap works perfectly well for me. The strings are MUCH MUCH easier to fret, which means I can use my pinky finger in different positions and without having to jam down each string with the full force of my hand. I don't seem to have any buzzing either. I'm sure that with more filing I could have gone down to .025 or even .022, but then who knows if the buzzing would have started.