1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Filling Fret holes/lines oh i dont know

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by unclejam, Jun 9, 2007.

1. Hello. Im receiving a stripped dean bass from Mr. Flknifemaker.When he stripped it he also took the frets out. Im wondering if there is someone who i can contact to fill these holes were the frets used to be.Thanks in advance.

2. Manual_Combat

Manual_Combat

Jan 20, 2005
    wood putty works- make sure it's the kind that does harden to a sandable hardness and not some sort of wax. you can also probably use epoxy and wood dust.

good luck ;)

3. thanks i also forgot to mention i have no lutheiric experience

4. lamia

lamia

Jan 30, 2007
    Houston, Texas
    The first time I did this I had 2 fretted basses and wanted a fretless. Without having a bit of experience or knowledge I grabbed my pliers and started yanking the frets, went to the hardware store and got some durham rock hard puddy mix, filled in the lines, let it dry, sanded then epoxied the fretboard with some stuff my dad used to coat the hull of his boat. That was in 1981. I still own the bass and it is still the same and plays great (though it has been in the hands of one of my best friends for almost 10 years and giged constantly).

I say go for it, it's easy to do and you have a great place to ask questions.

5. what do i use to finish the neck?

will a few layers of Johnson's paste wax work?

6. lamia

lamia

Jan 30, 2007
    Houston, Texas
    Most wood puttys, even the one I mentioned, don't react well to moisture in one way or another so if you go that route you will need to seal the fretboard. I like epoxy, it is tough and lasts. I've heard of people using polyurethane but I don't think it is tough enough to hold up over time. There is at least one thread here I saw recently showing how to apply epoxy to a neck.