1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Filter effects.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by fenderheavy, Apr 3, 2009.

1. fenderheavy

fenderheavy

Apr 3, 2009
    Hi everyone. I'm a newbie here, and need some direction. My band is doing some tunes now that require some effects. One example is "Closer" by Nine Inch Nails. Gotta nail that filter. Any ideas? Will the Line 6 X3 Live give it to me?

I don't mind spending some doh for good gear, but may want to hold back a bit on effects. Just need some direction.

Thanks!
    Mike

2. Jared Lash

Jared Lash Born under punches Supporting Member

Aug 21, 2006
    Northern California
    I have no idea about the Line 6 - I've never tried it.

But in a very general sense, you are going to have a very hard time nailing that tone, simply because it's hard to cop a synth tone on a bass. The fuzz "bass" tone on the chorus and break/outro won't be as difficult but will still take some work.

But as far as getting close to that filter tone, my first guess would be the old Guyatone BR-2, but it's a little bassier and doesn't have that smooth break to it's envelope. Maybe an EBS Bass IQ (try Hi-Q mode). But again, it will be very difficult to "nail" that sound.

3. kevteop

kevteop

Feb 12, 2008
    York, UK
    It looks like a difficult one to do, just because of the way the filter opens and closes through the loop. I don't think you could do it with an envelope-following pedal. You could perhaps get closer (no pun intended) with an LFO-controlled filter but then there'd be issues with keeping the tempo locked with your drummer.

I don't fancy your chances, frankly. :(

4. seacouch

seacouch

Apr 21, 2005
    Seattle, WA
    In order to make this work, the drummer will have to go.

5. Jared Lash

Aug 21, 2006
    Northern California