Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Finally found a practice routine :) Comments welcome

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by fourstringdrums, Aug 4, 2003.

1. fourstringdrums

fourstringdrums Decidedly Indecisive Supporting Member

Oct 20, 2002
    San Antonio
    I've been playing for about 2 years, and frankly, my practicing has never been practicing. I've been just "playing" I'd practice lessons given to me by my teacher, but since I stopped lessons (no time, teacher quit playing all together..its a shame too, but thats another story all together)..ANYWAY.. I think I finally came up with a routine that I can do every day, that I should atleast be able to put into an hour, if not more. Here is my outline that I made for myself..comments welcome on things I should add, consider etc..

Daily Practice Routine

I. Left Hand Warm up

1. Stretching
    a. 1st – 4th fret, D# False Harmonic Stretch etc.
    2. Chromatic Scales
    a. Up, down and back using 8th’s 16th’s and triplets

3. Diagonal Ascend/Descend
    a. Up, down and back using 8th’s 16th’s and triplets

4. “Steve’s 1-2, 3-4, 4-3, 2-1 string skip exercise”

5. “Bass Workout” Book Excercises

II. Right Hand Warm Up

1. 8th’s, 16th’s, Triplets and Paradiddles
    a. Staying on one string, ascending, descending and alternating strings

2. Octaves

III. Scales

1. Major, Minor, Pentatonic Major & Minor and Blues Scales
    a. Play each scale in all keys. Also pick a key and move around the neck playing the scale on each note of that key. Play each note of the scale in different places on the neck, not just in the normal finger pattern. Play each scale in every degree 1-7. Be sure to say each note and think about the notes being played, not the finger pattern
    b. Major, Pentatonic and Blues Scale Forms

2. Practice all Modes including Parallels

IV. Reading

1. Bass and Treble Cleff