Finally got a Modulus Q5

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by atldeadhead, Oct 3, 2003.

1. atldeadhead

Jun 17, 2002
    Wow. The sound in your head really is in this bass.

I've been playing bass for almost 15 years and in that time I've pretty much played nothing but Fender instruments. For the past couple of years I've been reading a lot about Modulus basses and always thought that one day, if I could find a dealer in Atlanta, that I'd take the plunge, cough up the money, and buy myself a top 'o the line instrument. Well last Saturday that day arrived.

This bass is incredible. To begin with, the craftsmanship is light years ahead of what I've been used to playing. The fretwork and finish are flawless. The action, unbeleivably low. The tone.....oh my God, the tone. For the past week I've been playing this Ferrari in my basement and was totally impressed. Well last night I got to try it out with my band. I'm still on a high from the experience. It's amazing how a first class instrument can take an old solid state ampeg amp and make it sound fresh, new and exciting. I couldn't beleive my ears. The carbon fiber "35 neck is an awesome invention. Every note up and down the entire neck, on every one of the five strings, just sing. Fast, tight articulation. Not a dead spot to be found. Sustain for days. A fat, round, feel it in your chest, bottom end with a crystalline, bright, clear and clean top end. Absolutely gorgeous. Like the voice of an angel. So this is what a B string is *supposed* to sound like, eh?

A little bit about the bass:

-Modulus Q5 built in September 2002
    -Bubinga top with alder body and clear finish
    -"35, 24 fret (3 octaves!) carbon fiber neck
    -Composite fingerboard
    -All black hardware
    -Bartolini PU's
    -Bartolini electronics with active bass, mid, and treble controls (NTMB)

Somebody pinch me!

2. dabshire

Dec 15, 2002
    McKinney, TX