1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Finally got my tone, so why am I depressed?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Captain Simian, Mar 29, 2009.

1. After many years of trying different basses, amps, cabs, and pedals I have finally achieved the tone I've been hearing in my head since I started playing. Various Fenders through a Danelectro chorus and a BBE Sonic Stomp into a Markbass LMII combo. For the last month I feel like my tone is just kissing me everytime I play. Usually I changed settings on my amp constantly looking for the sound. I have only done very minor tweaking and usually it's just the volume and gain. To make sure I've recorded my last two band rehearsals and sure enough my tone is killer. Thick, full yet cutting through beautifully with just a tiny, tiny minuscule bit of fuzzing. I finally found what I feel is my sound. Why am I not happier about this? I should be thrilled but I'm actually a bit bummed. Can't quite figure out why to be honest. Maybe it's because the thrill of the chase is gone? Has anyone else gone through this?

2. Chinguschild

Chinguschild

Apr 17, 2006
    Chico, Cali
    I kinda felt the same way. Then a new set of strings made me happy. I dont know dude.

3. :D
    Thats when I bought myself a Telecaster and Fender Pro Jr.!

4. It's the journey, not the destination. ;)

5. PBass101

PBass101

Jul 3, 2008
    Illinois
    Just play the bass.

6. ehque

ehque

Jan 8, 2006
    Singapore
    Exactly what i came here to post.

7. Sharp Objects

Sharp Objects

Mar 1, 2006
    Florida
    I think I can get what you mean about being depressed about it. It was trying all the cabs and basses, the experience of it all, and trying to get the tone. Now that you've got it, you can stop searching, must be one hell of a gear change.

Edit: Huh, looks like some guys above me said it best :)