1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Finally played my Fretless *live* today!!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Vinny D, Feb 24, 2008.

1. Vinny D

Vinny D

Jan 9, 2007
    Warwick, RI
    I purchased a G&L SB-2 fretless a little over a year ago and never really had the time to get comfortable enough playing fretless to venture using it out on a gig......Well that all changed today:hyper:
    I have been playing bass for 25+ years and only recently got bit by the fretless bug, but because my main band has been busy and I usually end up playing my 5-string basses (my fretless is a 4-stringer) I have not had the time to get my skills up to where I felt I needed to be to be able to play the fretless comfortably live. For the past month I have been doing a Sunday gig and I have been forcing myself to leave my 5-string basses at home and get some use out of all the 4-string basses I have that are just collecting dust at home, but today I took the training wheels off and rode the fretless the entire gig:D. I had a blast and it wasn't nearly as scary as what I kept telling myslef it was going to be...actually it was a lot of fun and now I can't wait until next Sunday when I get to play it with a band again!
    I should not have waited so long:scowl: This bass has been telling me to play it for a while now;)

Picture072.

2. Foxworthy925

Foxworthy925 Guest

Feb 24, 2007
    Bay Area, CA
    Wow that's a beautiful instrument. I'm glad you had fun playing it at your gig. It's only uphill from here...

3. DistantTremor

DistantTremor

Nov 29, 2007
    Wow, congratulations! I played my first fretless live last winter, a warwick corvette.

Strange, I don't remember having a G&L SB-2 fretless.... Or performing live with one...? :eyebrow: ;) Actually, I had noticed that your name and last initial are both the same as mine, so the thread caught my eye.