1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Finding a band - VENT

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by jordanm, Apr 15, 2006.

1. jordanm

jordanm

Feb 24, 2005
    Atlanta, GA
    So I've just recently gotten out of college and looking for a new band to get something going with. I played with a steady band all throughout high school and a little of college. We had something good going and made alot of money, headlined some cool shows and opened for some pretty big bands, had talent, and know how but no one is interested in doing it anymore. I lived with a drummer in college and played with alot of random musicians working on all types of stuff. Have had experience recording, I have plenty of experience, know how, talent, and gear... so I assumed this would be a somewhat easy thing to do. I lined up a few bands through connects and put an ad on craigslist. Went through the suitors with a fine tooth comb and picked some out that might have potential. It has turned into a stress nightmare! Its just friggin music what the hell is wrong with you people!! My summary of bands thus far

Band #1- Nice guys, very devoted and seriously want to do the music thing. Going for the poppy rock kinda sound, not very original and dont have the song theory down well. Every guitar line has a **** load of open cords and too much distortion, not melodic at all.. and there all like 7 min long.. and the vocals suck.. but they think there about to get signed and move to LA:rolleyes:

Band #2- Rap group, early Roots type sound. Very cool stuff to play and sounds great. Just not serious at all, we played like 20 min and that was their practice time. No CD, only played one gig, next..