Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Finding a GOOD guitarist

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Trouland, Feb 10, 2005.

1. :rollno: Hello All,
    I don't post here often but I come in and read lot and there is alot of good info posted in Talkbass. Here is my delema:
    I have been playing Bass for 33 years in lots of different bands. About 5 years ago I started a Progressive project here in MN. It took a long time to find really good musicians, drums, key boards and vocals, not to mention bringing my chops up to standard. We initialy played with a guitarist who wasn't quite up to the job. When he started to come to practice not knowing his parts we decided to let him go. Since then (about 9 months) we have been auditioning guitarists (about 20 so far) and I have to say its real slim pickings out there. They either have drug or alcohol problems or they have no idea about music theory, composition or even know the circle of fifths. Most of the people who audition we feel embaressed for them, I mean one guy we had to show him how to tune his guitar! We have advertised in the newspapers and all over the internet and so far we have come up empty. Does any one have any suggestions for our situation? We write our own materiel and do alot of Dream Theater covers, we also have our own studio and good practice space. Sorry for the long post and thanks all.

Stalled in Minnesota

2. chris4001asat

chris4001asat

Dec 16, 2002
    Toledo, Ohio
    Warehouse Manager : Reverend Guitars