Finding/Creating a Band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Solid-Body, Nov 11, 2002.

1. Solid-Body

Solid-Body Guest

Nov 10, 2002
    Exiled to Australia
    Hello, all. I'm new to talkbass and new to my area. I've been studying and practicing for two years, and now I feel that I need to grow with a band. But, I can't find anyone to play with. Does anyone have suggestions where I might locate other musicians, possibly with similar interests? I'm desperately trying to find some (at least semi-serious) musicians to hang with. I've even though of placing a personal ad :), but doubt it would do much good. Well, thanks.
  2. WildBill

Jul 7, 2002
    I have the same problem, my advice is go to local bands shows, most of the crowd is A: friends with the band, B: into the scene, or C: musicians wanting to make connections to start bands.
  3. SMASH

SMASH Guest

Jan 18, 2000
    Go to a venue where local bands gig and ask around where the main "musican's wanted" adverts are found. You live in a big city, likely whatever freebie entertainment paper (there is likely a weekly one, yes)? is around will have these ads. Typically they're free or very cheap - advertise yourself if no existing adverts catch your eye.

Join a gigging band. If you're new to it, just go along with whatever they say and get experienced. Preferably these'd be be people who have some experience and contacts and have their "act" together, doing good promo and such. No matter what though, gigging 5 times will learn you more than waiting 5 months for the right drummer to join or for songs to be written.

Be nice to the soundmen and members of the other bands. Tell them you're new, and eager to play. Bass players get a LOT of offers.