1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Finding two-note "chords"

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by KOOSEE, Sep 20, 2008.

1. KOOSEE

KOOSEE

Jul 15, 2008
    southern CA
    Ahords are defined as usually consisting of three or more notes, however I enjoy the sound of a two-note "chord".

Anyway how would I go about trying to find what the chord is based on the notes it consists of.

Just curious, because I'm currently writing a song with two-note chords and I want to know what chords they are in order to continue writing the song.

Thanks

2. Having the notes would really help us. If you don't know your notes, a tuner will tell you.

3. KOOSEE

KOOSEE

Jul 15, 2008
    southern CA
    I think I know my notes, I've been playing for three years.

C and A

C and Ab

D and G

D and Gb

4. Mesmerize-16

Mesmerize-16

Aug 31, 2007
    I think a two-tone chord is called a "dyad", but i could be wrong. These are usually written out like "A5" (A root-fifth), I believe.
    So your first dyad is Amin3. Second is (Ab)maj3. Third is G5. And fourth is (Gb)min6.

I think those are right but I haven't done chord notation since I was playing jazz on the trumpet three and a half years ago. Feel free to correct me.

5. DocBop

DocBop

Feb 22, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    What you are talking about is just an interval or a double-stop. Typically when reducing a chord down to two note the two notes that define a chord are the 3rd and 7th. People do use other intervals as double-stops like 3rds or 5ths. 5ths are ambiguous because lack of identify note of a 3rd. 10th's are nice sound on bass.

Your notes are just intervals to me. C and A a 6th or invert it a mi3rd. C and Ab a mi6 or invert and you have a maj3rd. D and G is a perfect 4th or invert and perfect 5th. D and Gb lets make it D and F# that is another maj3rd invert mi6th.